San Antonio Spurs Gregg Popovich Awarded NBA Coach Of The Year


San Antonio Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich has been awarded the NBA Coach of the Year honors. This is the third time Coach Pop has received the award. The only other coaches to receive this distinction three times, Pat Riley and Don Nelson.  This season Pop has guided the Spurs to the best record in the NBA at 62-20.

The spurs have reached at least 50 wins the last 15 seasons. Let that sink in for a second. It was the 90’s the last day they didn’t win that many games. Keep in mind the 98-99 season was shortened.

Check out how the votes were broken out:

Popovich tallied 59 first-place votes and 380 points in balloting among sportswriters and broadcasters, finishing just ahead of Phoenix Suns coach Jeff Hornacek, who had 339 points (37 first-place votes).

Chicago’s Tom Thibodeau (159), Charlotte’s Steve Clifford (127) and Toronto’s Dwane Casey (70) rounded out the top five.

Welldeserved. Coach Pop has created a system and culture in San Antonio that thrives no matter what parts are in place.