2013 NBA Rising Stars Challenge game participants announced


Participants have been announced for the 2013 NBA Rising Stars Challenge game (formerly known as the NBA Rookie challenge.) 18 players  have been selected including last season’s rookie of the year, Cleveland Cavaliers point guard Kyrie Irving. Joining Irving are this year’s breakout candidates for rookie of the year, Blazers Damian Lillard and Hornets Anthony Davis.

Check the rest of the list below:

Sophomore class: Kenneth Faried (Denver Nuggets), Brandon Knight (Detroit Pistons), Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio Spurs), Chandler Parsons (Houston Rockets), Klay Thompson (Golden State Warriors), Tristan Thompson (Cleveland Cavaliers), Nikola Vucevic (Orlando Magic), and Kemba Walker (Charlotte Bobcats).

Rookies: Harrison Barnes (Warriors) Bradley Beal (Washington Wizards), Andre Drummond (Detroit Pistons), Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (Bobcats), Alexey Shved (Minnesota Timberwolves), Dion Waiters (Cavaliers), and Tyler Zeller (Cavaliers).

Last season a new twist was added to the mix for this event. Instead of the rookies playing the sophs head up, the teams were mixed and Shaq drafted for one team with Charles Barkley handling the duties for the other.  The draft for this year’s contest will take place next Thursday, February 7th on TNT.