2012 NBA Dunk Contest will introduce a new format

No Blake Griffin, no LeBron James, not even a JaVale McGee sighting for the 2012 dunk contest. This year’s four contestants are, the Houston Rockets’ Chase Budinger, the Indiana Pacers’ Paul George, the New York Knicks’ Iman Shumpert, and the Minnesota Timberwolves’ Derrick Williams.

McGee was interested in participating again but the NBA didn’t call. They indicated they wanted to go in a different direction. The contest has been revamped. There’s only one round with 3 dunks by each contestant. Fans will vote for the winner via text and Twitter.

Certainly means the event will be faster. I can’t say I’m interested but perhaps someone will come along out of nowhere and make it worthwhile.